Founded 1956

SALALM - Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials

José Toribio Medina Award

Established by the SALALM Executive Board at SALALM XXVI, 1981 (New Orleans, LA)

1982-1992 compiled by Rebeka Martin under the direction of Jane Garner

1993 - compiled by Jane Garner

At SALALM XXVI, the SALALM Executive Board established the José Toribio Medina Award, to be made annually, if merited, in recognition of outstanding contributions by SALALM members to Latin American Studies. An award may be given for a monographic publication in each of the areas of bibliography and reference. The purpose of the program is to encourage and acknowledge truly superior accomplishments in research and scholarship . An awards panel, comprised of the previous three winners, reviews nominations and submissions, and recommends a recipient to the Editorial Board. Nominations and applications are solicited via the December Newsletter, and lala-l, and are due two months prior to the upcoming annual meeting.

The award may be granted to a distinguished monograph, published, or accepted for publication, within the three years immediately preceding the closing date for nominations. The awards panel looks for outstanding bibliographies, reference works, and sources which facilitate access to research or contribute to the understanding, use, or development of Latin American collections. Reprints, translations, or re-editions are not eligible. Selection is based on scholarship, style, and the importance of the contribution. The award, in the form of a certificate and honorarium of $250, is presented at SALALM's annual meeting. Nominations and applications are submitted to Chair of the Jose Toribio Medina Award Panel. To be eligible for the award, an author must be a member in good standing of SALALM, and also have been a member in the previous membership year.

If requested to do so by the awards panel, authors are responsible for providing one copy of the work to the review committee. Such copies will be returned when the selection process has been completed.

Past Winners of the José Toribio Medina Award

Criteria for Nomination


Last modified 03/18/09

SALALM Homepage